Sunday, January 9, 2011

Snow? Really? Should we freak out THAT MUCH?


SNOW

Ok, so I got my laugh for the day. People in Georgia get excited when there is a chance of snow, but when there is actually snow...we flock the stores like there is no maƱana. Cause all the southerners freak out and buy stores in preparation for the end of the world. Then they come home, put all the groceries away in a bunker, and update their FB status saying "It's SNOWINGGGG AHHHH". I'm just like...thank you for clarifying that captain obvious...xD  We make totally separate Facebook albums to dedicate to snow storms. I'm just saying, it's crazy. 
Ashley [my sister] reports that when visiting the store today with my mom and dad, she says "Near empty shelves of bread" was the only way to describe the horrific scene. When in line, she said in a matter-of-fact tone to everyone else "Oh my gosh, it's official the world is going to end cause ICE is falling from the sky!". She says that a guy in line behind her laughed, I don't blame him. It must have been hilarious!! Laurel says that she went to buy bananas and apparently they are a must have as well...wierd. Plus, you got all these people on Facebook posting EVERY 2 SECONDS "school's out!!! yayyy!". 


"When precipitation hits the ground in Georgia, people revert back to 1000bc."
-Rachel

I've learned that living in Georgia there is always a guarantee to laugh for 2 reasons:

1. As we've seen, any snow storm can be described as "Sherman second marching into Atlanta". That is if he were to rise from the dead with a strange vengeance because Atlanta was rebuilt and is now wildly populated with Justin Beiber fans. But I highly doubt that...don't you? Georgia does not believe in seasons. We only have high and low temperatures. Cause for some reason we can't understand that weather is not controlled to one temperature because of the season it's labeled under. Then we get mad cause it's not what we want. Such indecisive people we are. 
2. I mean, just look at how we are portrayed in movies. Enough said. It's kinda sad actually. And we are mostly portrayed that way because of reason #1. 

The weather is not all that I want to talk about, I actually did something cool yesterday! I got to do a photo session for a friend of mine and here is one of my favorites from the entire day!

She was like "before we go, we're trying this!"

I saw the umbrellas and said "yeah, not passing this up"

Interesting enough, you learn a lot about people when you do photo sessions. I really could see myself making this a career, I couldn't see myself doing anything else for the rest of my life. And it's funny, I get behind a camera and i'm smiling and laughing, i'm thinking but not about the bad things, i'm thinking about the love of photography and for the people i'm taking pictures of. I mean, you don't know how much the pictures will ever mean to someone...but you get to help put that smile on their face. 

[weather interruption] 
Snow update after an hour of snow= 1 and 1/2 inches
[back to blog]


I saw Tron on last week! I LOVED it! Best movie I have seen in a while, other than Easy A. I have  noticed that seeing new movies make me feel better! I love it.
Now that i've shared what I wanted, i'm going back to watching the endless hours of Greek archived episodes on Netflix. Fun :D 
Cappie+Casey= SO CUTE! AHH. Seeing them makes me want a relationship so bad, but then again it doesn't. The whole show makes me second guess the idea of "relationship" and believe that college life has WAY more to offer than serious commitment. Haha, we'll see. 

Later, 
<3

No comments:

Post a Comment